Skip to main content


Certifying Authority

Created : 25.09.2017. Updated: 17.02.2021.

According to legal acts the Treasury performs the functions of the certifying authority for European Union funds (European Regional Development Fund, European Social Fund, Cohesion Fund), the European Economic Area Financial Instrument and the Norwegian Financial Instrument. Main responsibilities of the certifying authority:

EU funds 2014-2020 programming period

  • prepare and submit to the European Commission payment applications and accounts, certifying that the payment application and the accounts are correct and prepared using reliable accounting systems, based on verifiable supporting documents, as well as the expenditure included in the payment application and the accounts are in compliance with European Union and national legislation and operations are selected in accordance with the criteria applicable to the programme;
  • ensure the accounting of funds received, paid and recovered, as well as report to the European Commission

More information on European Union funds is available at


EEA/NFI 2014-2021 programming period

  • certify expenditure carried out under the Programmes and to submit interim financial reports and final reports to donor states;
  • submit EEA/NFI payment forecasts to donor states;
  • keep accounts of funds received

More information on EEA/NFI is available at